No Extra Notes

Asha Srinivasan
June 7, 2009, 8:51 pm
Filed under: Composers



Asha Srinivasan

Born: July 3, 1980

Current Location: Appleton, WI



Asha Srinivasan is an Assistant Professor of Music at Lawrence University in Wisconsin. As an Indian-American composer, Ms. Srinivasan draws from her Western musical training and her Indian heritage to create her compositional language. Her music has been presented at various national festivals including SEAMUS, June in Buffalo, Spark, and others. She has won the Prix d’Ete competition for her flute piece Alone, Dancing and the Walsum competition for her string quartet Kalpitha, which was premiered by the Left Bank Quartet. In 2006, she won the BMI Foundation’s First Annual Women’s Music Commission; the commissioned work was premiered by The St. Luke’s Ensemble in New York. She has also been commissioned by Sequoia Chamber Players and clarinetist E. Michael Richards. Her studies include: D.M.A in Composition at University of Maryland, College Park, with Dr. Robert Gibson; M.Mus in Computer Music Composition and and M.Mus in Music Theory Pedagogy at the Peabody Conservatory, with Dr. Greg Boyle, Dr. Geoff Wright, and Dr. Paul Mathews, and B.A. in Music at Goucher College, with Dr. Kendall Kennison.

Music copyright 2009 by Asha Srinivasan

Copyright 2009

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: