No Extra Notes

Andrew McPherson
June 28, 2009, 9:37 pm
Filed under: Composers





Andrew McPherson

Born: 1982

Current Location: Philadelphia, PA



Andrew McPherson did his undergraduate work at MIT, studying composition with Peter Child and John Harbison, and viola with Marcus Thompson.  A double major in music and electrical engineering, he graduated Phi Beta Kappa and was awarded the 2004 Sudler Prize in the Arts.  He subsequently worked in Barry Vercoe’s computer music group at the Media Lab, completing a Master’s degree in engineering in 2005.

Andrew is currently completing a Ph. D. in composition at the University of Pennsylvania, where his teachers include James Primosch, Jay Reise, and Anna Weesner.  He has attended the Tanglewood, Aspen, and Bowdoin, and NEON festivals, and is the recipient of a 2008 Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and the 2009 Jacob Druckman Prize from Aspen.  His compositions, which range from orchestral and chamber music to pieces involving live electronic sound, have been performed by Network for New Music, the American Composers Orchestra, the Tanglewood New Fromm Players, the BUTI Wind Ensemble, and the MIT Symphony and Chamber Orchestras, among others.

Music copyright 2009 by Andrew McPherson

Copyright 2009

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: