No Extra Notes

Robert Voisey
August 9, 2009, 6:40 pm
Filed under: Composers



Robert Voisey

Born: December 8, 1969

Current Location: New York, NY



“With few opportunities and much competition, young composers show creativity in just getting heard.” And in Chris Pasles’s article in the Los Angeles Times, Robert Voisey is highlighted as one of those composers. Composing electroacoustic and chamber music, his aesthetic oscillates from the ambient to the romantic. Rob Voisey embraces a variety of media for his compositions, and pioneers new venues to disseminate his music and reach audiences. His works have been performed in concert venues and radio broadcasts around the world.

As a producer, Robert Voisey is regarded as having ambitious ideas for the dissemination of contemporary music. His 60×60 Dance collaboration in 2008 brought huge success to the project and Roslyn Sulcas in The New York Times wrote: “The idea–60 new dance pieces are performed to 60 new pieces of music, each lasting no more than 60 seconds–is quite mad. But it’s this kind of madness that makes the cultural world go round, and so our thanks are due to the composer Robert Voisey, who first came up with the concept in 2003.”

“Composer and electronic music impresario Robert Voisey devised the 60×60 concept so large numbers of composers could bring their work to audiences in a portable, palatable, and decidedly unconventional format. Since the series’ inception in 2003, Vox Novus — Voisey’s organization dedicated to the promotion of contemporary composers and their work — has solicited 60×60 submissions by composers at all professional levels worldwide and presented its hour-long recordings at concerts in cities from Brooklyn to Bucharest. …This digitized, compartmentalized, sound-bite format is a tantalizing new way to experience widely varied and eclectic electronic music. And 60×60’s longevity and international acclaim show that Vox Novus’ innovative strategy to attract audiences and encourage composers has actually worked” – Alexandra Jones, Classical Voice of North Carolina

60×60 contains 60 works from 60 different artists. Each work is 60 seconds in duration and sequenced together to create a one hour performance. “A minute can be ample time to express a whole gamut of imaginative sounds, or it can be a constraint which forces an artist to isolate what is the most important element of a work. The point of the project is that it enables an audience to take in and enjoy a cross section of different approaches to new music within a reasonable duration. And the purpose of Robert Voisey is to promote new music” -Malcolm Miller, Music & Vision

Music copyright 2009 by Robert Voisey

Copyright 2009

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: