No Extra Notes

Composer Takeover 03
April 5, 2010, 2:38 am
Filed under: Composers


Ian Dicke

Born: May 23, 1982

Current Location: Austin, TX



The music of American-born composer and singer/songwriter Ian Dicke includes works for orchestra, chorus, chamber ensembles, and electronic media. Heralded by the San Francisco Classical Voice as “colorful, well-designed, and deftly scored,” Ianʼs music draws inspiration from his experiences of playing in pop, rock, and experimental groups.

Ianʼs works have been presented by many ensembles and festivals around the world, including the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra under the direction of Marin Alsop, the University of Michigan Philharmonia Orchestra, The San Francisco Conservatory of Music Orchestra conducted by Brad Lubman, Music X, Indiana State Universityʼs Music Now recital series, Capital M, Gamma-UT, Vox Novus, and the Midwest Composerʼs Symposium. In 2007, Ian was awarded a MetLife Creative Connections grant from the Meet the Composer Foundation.

Ian holds degrees from the University of Michigan and the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. He is currently a doctoral student at The University of Texas at Austin. Ianʼs teachers include David Conte, Dan Becker, and Michael Daugherty.

Music © 2010 Ian Dicke

Jonathan Kolm

Born: 1977

Current Location: Philadelphia, PA



A rising American composer, Jonathan Kolm’s works have been heard around the country and abroad. His music combines rhythmic intensity, haunting lyricism and rich harmonic colors and has been recognized with many awards and prizes in national competitions.

He is the recipient of the 2009 Craig and Janet Swan Composition prize from the University of Minnesota for his orchestral work Prophecies which was premiered in Minneapolis conducted by Mark Russell Smith. His work Terra Secundum was premiered in 2009 by the new music ensemble IonSounds and hailed for being “fluent in its diversity” (Mark Kanny, Pittsburgh Tribune-Review Classical Music Critic, 12/21/09). A review of his music appeared was the subject of a July 2009 entry on the widely read Chamber Music Today blog. Concerning his award winning chamber piece Quantum Music, the author stated “The textures are interesting throughout, and the narrative arc is accessible and deeply moving.” In 2008 he participated in the VocalEssence/American Composers Forum workshop for new choral music, working with composer Daniel Godfrey, artistic director Philip Brunelle and VocalEssence. 2007 saw the premiere of several commissioned works as well as winning first place in the Austin Peay State Composition Competition for A Dream within a Dream.

Music © 2010 Jonathan Kolm

Leonard Mark Lewis

Born: May 3, 1973

Current Location: Rock Hill, SC



Composer Leonard Mark Lewis (b. 1973, Great Yarmouth, England) (D.M.A., Composition, University of Texas; M.M., Composition, University of Houston) is a composer, conductor and pianist specializing in new music. Lewis, a member of B.M.I., is the recipient of awards from ASCAP (Morton Gould Young Composer Award), B.M.I., Columbia University (Bearns Prize), Voices of Change (Russell Horn Young Composers Award), and MACRO. While on the faculty at the University of Missouri, Lewis was named Missouri’s Composer of the Year (2002) by Missouri Music Teacher’s Association (MMTA). His Concerto for Orchestra, was chosen for inclusion in the 2001 American Composers Orchestra Whitaker New Music Readings series, and was conducted by Dennis Russell Davies. In addition to his catalog of solo works, compositions by Lewis have been commissioned and performed by an array of ensembles including the North/South Consonance, Truman State Orchestra, AURA (University of Houston), Symposium for New Band Music, University of Texas Composer’s Orchestra, University of Texas Wind Ensemble, New Music Camerata (East Carolina University), NACUSA, Concordia Trio, University of Missouri Symphonic Band and Hyperion Ensemble. New Music Camerata premiered his wind ensemble work Black Against White Sky at The Kennedy Center in Washington D.C. in March 2000. Dr. Lewis’ music is published by Dorn, Manhattan Beach, Southern and Haggelstein. Lewis’s main composition teachers were Dan Welcher (University of Texas) and Carlisle Floyd (University of Houston). Lewis has served on the faculty at the University of Missouri-Columbia (Assistant Professor of Composition/Theory) and Cy-Fair College (Chair and Associate Professor of Music). Dr. Lewis is currently Assistant Professor of Composition/Theory at Winthrop University.-

Music © 2010 Leonard Mark Lewis

Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of No Extra Notes

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Podcast © 2010 No Extra Notes


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Selection will be based not only on the quality of the compositions but also on the quality of recordings.  Keep in mind that this is an audio broadcast only, so please choose your submissions accordingly.  No Extra Notes will only be able to air recordings supplied by the composers and will not offer to organize any live performances or new recordings of the works.  The first Composer Takeover can be seen here,  second here, and the third here. […]

Pingback by Call for Composers 04 « No Extra Notes

[…] recordings of the works.  The first Composer Takeover can be seen here,  second here, third here and the fourth […]

Pingback by Call for Composers 05 « No Extra Notes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: