No Extra Notes

Russell Nadel
November 1, 2010, 3:31 am
Filed under: Composers


Russell Nadel

Born: April 18, 1983

Current Location: Springfield, VA



Russell Nadel, 27, graduated from the Peabody Conservatory of Music in Baltimore, Maryland, in 2006, having earned Master’s and Bachelor’s degrees in music composition and a Bachelor’s degree in Music Education. While at Peabody, his primary instructors were Drs. Bruno Amato and Harlan Parker. Among recent honors, Mr. Nadel flew to Memphis, TN, to receive the 2010 Young Composers’ Award from the international Guild of Temple Musicians for his composition Shabbat Cycle. Recent commissions include an orchestra piece (The Road to Independence) for ArtsEdge, the National Arts and Education Network and a program of the John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center in Washington, DC, and a setting of a Hebrew liturgical text for a cantor in Ormond Beach, FL. Mr. Nadel was also featured in May 2010 on the website of ArtsEdge in a series of video blog entries, discussing his compositional processes and his upcoming commission for the organization. Recent performances include the world premiere of his choral work Windy Nights, which was performed by the 900-voice Sixth-Grade All-County Chorus of Fairfax County, Virginia in April 2010. Mr. Nadel has had original compositions commissioned and performed by adult and children’s performing ensembles in the United States and Canada, and has won a variety of awards for his compositions at the local, national and international levels. Mr. Nadel is currently in his fifth year teaching K-6 General and Choral Music at Mount Vernon Woods Elementary School in Alexandria, VA, located in Fairfax County, Virginia. Please see his website for more information, upcoming events, audio recordings, score excerpts, resources for music teachers and more:

All compositions and sound recordings are copyrighted as of 2010 by Russell A. Nadel and the various performing artists featured in this podcast.  All rights are reserved.  No independent recordings of this podcast may be made or distributed without the permission of Richard Zarou, Russell Nadel and all performing artists featured on this podcast.

Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of No Extra Notes

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Podcast © 2010 No Extra Notes


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: