No Extra Notes

Ryan Francis
January 17, 2011, 4:12 am
Filed under: Composers


Ryan Francis

Born: July 17, 1981

Current Location: Brooklyn, NY



Composer Ryan Anthony Francis (b. 1981) is is a native of Portland, Oregon.  His music has been hailed as “shimmering”, “focused”, and “rhythmically sharp-edged” (New York Times), “compelling” (Los Angeles Times) as well as “sweeping” and “exceptional” (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette).  He currently resides in New York City, where he received his Masters in Music and Doctorate of Musical Arts from the Juilliard School as a student of Robert Beaser.  In addition to his endless enthusiasm for piano composition, he has received orchestral commissions from the American Composers Orchestra, Metropolis Ensemble, the Columbia Symphony of Portland, and the New York Youth Symphony.  Other commissions have included new works for the Wordless Music Series, Axiom, New Juilliard Ensemble, Pittsburgh New Music Ensemble and FearNoMusic Ensemble.

Music © 2011 Ryan Francis

Piano Concerto:  Anna Polonsky, soloist, Andrew Cyr conducting Metropolis Ensemble
Etudes:  Vicky Chow, Piano (tzadik records 2011)

Photograph © 2011 Umi Hashitsume

Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of No Extra Notes

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Podcast © 2011 No Extra Notes



Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: