No Extra Notes

Hannah Lash
January 31, 2011, 12:23 am
Filed under: Composers


Hannah Lash

Born: November 22, 1981

Current Location: New York, NY



Hailed by the NY Times as “striking and resourceful…handsomely brooding,” Hannah Lash’s music has been performed at the Times Center, Chicago Art Institute, Tanglewood Music Center, Harvard University, The Chelsea Art Museum, and on the American Opera Project’s stage in New York City. Commissions include The Fromm Foundation, The Naumburg Foundation, The Orpheus Duo, The Howard Hanson Foundation’s Commissioning Fund, Case Western Reserve’s University Circle Wind Ensemble, MAYA, and the Aspen Contemporary Ensemble. She has worked with such artists and ensembles as Yolanda Kondonassis, Kirsten Sollek, Eric Brenner, The JACK Quartet, American Composers Orchestra, the Arditti Quartet, Alarm Will Sound, Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart, and Ensemble NEM.

Lash has received numerous honors and prizes, including a Fromm Commission, the Naumburg Prize in Composition, the Barnard Rogers Prize in Composition, the Bernard and Rose Sernoffsky Prize in Composition, and Honorable Mention in BMI’s International Women’s Music Commission. This year she was recommended for the Rome Prize in composition, as well as for the Julius F. Jezek Prize. Her orchestral work, “Furthermore”, was selected by the American Composers Orchestra for the 2010 Underwood New Music Readings.

In addition to performances of her music in the USA, Lash’s music is known internationally. In April of 2008, her string quartet “Four Still” was performed in Kyev in the Ukraine’s largest international new music festival: “Musical Premieres of the Season,” curated by Carson Cooman. In the summer of 2010, her piece “Unclose” was premiered by members of Eighth Blackbird at the MusicX festival in Blonay, Switzerland.

Lash obtained her Ph.D in music (composition) from Harvard University in 2010. She has further studies in composition at the Yale School of Music.

Music © 2011 Hannah Lash

“Blood Rose” performed by Kirsten Sollek, Eric Brenner, and the JACK Quartet
“We On Earth: Migration” performed by Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgardt, poem by Rachel Maitra (set with permission of poet)

Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of No Extra Notes

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Podcast © 2011 No Extra Notes


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: