No Extra Notes

George Heathco
March 21, 2011, 4:02 am
Filed under: Composers


George Heathco

Born: April 7, 1983

Current Location: Houston, TX



George Heathco composes music for a variety of ensembles in a wide range of styles. His music blends elements of contemporary concert music with rock, jazz, and various other pop genres. Currently, he is a member of the 2010-2011 DaCamera of Houston Young Artist Program. He has taught guitar and music theory privately in the Houston area, music theory at American Festival for the Arts, and has taught music fundamentals at the University of Houston.  Mr. Heathco has performed all over Texas with various musicians, ensembles, and bands; playing classical, jazz, rock, hip-hop, blues, funk, and free-improvisation, and  performed as the guitarist for progressive/math metal band, The Pant Factory. He received a B.M. in music business from the University of Houston in 2006, and is currently completing graduate work at U.H. for an M.M. in composition. Some of the musicians he has studied with include: Robert Smith, Robert Nelson, James Bishop, Jim Vassallo, Noe Marmolejo, Dennis Dotson, and Mike Wheeler.

Music © 2010 George Heathco

Photograph © 2009 Amanda Heathco

Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of No Extra Notes

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Podcast © 2011 No Extra Notes


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: