No Extra Notes

Narong Prangcharoen
November 7, 2011, 4:41 am
Filed under: Composers


Nargon Prangcharoen

Current Location: Kansas City, MO



The music of Thai composer NARONG PRANGCHAROEN has been called “absolutely captivating” (Chicago Sun Times).  Although still in his early thirties, Prangcharoen has established an international reputation and is recognized as one of Thailand’s leading composers.  Prangcharoen has received many international prizes, including the Alexander Zemlinsky International Composition Competition Prize, the 18th ACL Yoshiro IRINO Memorial Composition Award, the Pacific Symphony’s American Composers Competition Prize, the Toru Takemitsu Composition Award, and most recently, the Annapolis Charter 300 International Composers Competition Prize.  In 2007, the Thai government named Prangcharoen a Contemporary National Artist and awarded him the Silapathorn Award, one of Thailand’s most prestigious honors.Recently, He has won the American Composers Orchestra Underwood New Music Commission and the Audience Choice Award.

Prangcharoen’s music has been performed in Asia, America, Australia, and Europe by many renowned ensembles such as the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, the Pacific Symphony, the Grant Park Orchestra, the Nagoya Philharmonic, the Melbourne Symphony, the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra, and the Bohuslav Martinů Philharmonic, under many well-known conductors, such Carl St. Clair, Carlos Kalmer, Jose-Luis Novo, and Mikhail Pletnev.  His music has also been presented by, among others, The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Ensemble TIMF, The New York New Music Ensemble, the Imani Winds, and pianist Bennett Lerner.

Music © 2011 Narong Prangcharoen

“Phenomenon” Performed by Bohuslav Martinu Philharmonic Orchestra; Andeas Baumgartner, conductor

“Mantras” Performed by John Sampen, Saxophonist; Bowling Green State University Wind Symphony; Bruce Moss, conductor

Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of No Extra Notes

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Podcast © 2011 No Extra Notes

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: