No Extra Notes

José Luis Hurtado
November 22, 2009, 10:33 pm
Filed under: Composers


José Luis Hurtado

Born: January 19, 1975

Current Location: Cambridge, MA



Winner of the 2008 Rodolfo Halffter Instrumenta Ibero-American Composition Prize, José Luis Hurtado’s music has been performed worldwide by ensembles and soloists such as The Boston Modern Orchestra Project, International Contemporary Ensemble, Pierrot Lunarie Ensemble Wien, Garth Knox, Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Tony Arnold y the Arditti Quartet among many others.

He has been the recipient of numerous awards and recognitions such as Kompositionspreis der Stadt Wolkersdorf (Austria), The Harvard University Green Prize for Excellence in Composition (USA), The Adelbert W. Sprague Prize (USA), The George Arthur Knight Prize (USA), The Julián Carrillo Composition Prize (Mexico) and 2nd prize in the Troisieme Concours International de composition du Quatuor Molinari (Canada).

Hurtado holds a Ph.D. from Harvard University where he studied under Mario Davidovsky, Chaya Czernowin, Magnus Lindberg, Brian Ferneyhough and Helmut Lachenmann.

Music copyright 2009 by José Luis Hurtado

L’ardito e quasi stridente gesto – The Arditti Quartet

Letargo e Instante – Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne

Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of No Extra Notes.

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Podcast © 2009 No Extra Notes

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: