No Extra Notes

Elizabeth A. Kelly
April 12, 2010, 12:59 am
Filed under: Composers


Elizabeth A. Kelly

Born: 1982

Current Location: Rochester, NY



Elizabeth A. Kelly’s works have been performed by a diverse array of ensembles including the Ann Arbor Symphony, Cabrillo Festival Orchestra, Janacek Philharmonic Orchestra, University of Illinois Chamber Orchestra, University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra and Concert Band, Yale Collegium Musicum, California EAR Unit, Aspen Contemporary Ensemble, orkest de ereprijs and Ossia New Music Ensemble. Her compositions have been presented at venues throughout the U.S. and Europe including the Aspen, Arcosanti, , Apeldoorn Young Composers, Bang on a Can/MASS MoCA, Bowdoin, Brevard, Cabrillo, CCM Music03, Ostrava Days, Fontainebleau American Conservatory, ImageMovementSound, Midwest Composers, Talloires Composers, and Women in Music festivals. She has fulfilled commissions from the Ann Arbor Symphony, National Youth Orchestra of the Netherlands, Eleanor and Ray Cross Foundation, Robert G. Boehmler Foundation, Yale Collegium Musicum and Ossia New Music Ensemble. Her work has been recognized with numerous awards including 2008 and 2009 ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composers Award, honorable mentions in the 2006 and 2008 ASCAP/CBDNA Frederick Fennell competitions, second prize at the 2009 Apeldoorn Young Composers Meeting competition in the Netherlands sponsored by International Gaudeamus Music Week , Eastman School of Music’s Wayne Brewster Barlow Prize and Yale University’s Abraham Beekman Cox Prize.

Kelly (b. 1982) is currently a Ph.D student in composition at the Eastman School of Music. She was awarded a Jacob K. Javits fellowship from the U.S. Dept. of Education as well as a Robert and Mary Sproull fellowship from the University of Rochester for her doctoral studies. She holds an M.M. in composition from the University of Michigan School of Music, where she was awarded the Ellen Marin Memorial and full merit scholarships. She completed her B.A. in music summa cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa, with distinction in the major at Yale. Principal teachers have included Michael Daugherty, David Liptak, Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon, Carlos Sanchez-Gutierrez, Betsy Jolas, Karen Tanaka, and Kathryn Alexander.

Music © 2010 Elizabeth A. Kelly

Photograph © 2010 Jordan Hayes

Selection 1: Fracas Andrew Liebermann, saxophones Ross Lafleur, electric guitar Matt Witten, percussion Jung Sun Kang, piano

Selection 2: ICE Ross Lafleur, electric guitar Eastman Wind Ensemble Mark Scatterday, conductor

Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of No Extra Notes

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Podcast © 2010 No Extra Notes

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: