No Extra Notes

Wlad Marhulets
June 7, 2010, 1:58 am
Filed under: Composers


Wlad Marhulets

Born: May 15, 1986

Current Location: New York, NY



Wlad Marhulets is a Polish composer of Jewish descent. Born in Minsk on May 1986, he began to be seriously interested in music at the age of 16. Wlad attended Academy of Music in Gdansk for one year, and later transfered to the Juilliard School in New York, where he began studying with one of contemporary music’s most distinguished composers, John Corigliano.

Primarily interested in a synthesis of musical styles, Wlad is always at work on a variety of genre bending projects. His continuous crossing of borders between genres and styles has resulted in a large number of works. In spite of young age his compositional output numbers more that 50 items of orchestral, chamber, and solo pieces. The key works include Concerto for Klezmer Clarinet and Orchestra (premiered by David Krakauer and Detroit Symphony orchestra), Double Violin Concerto (ASCAP Morton Gould Award 2010) and the string quartet “Dybbuk” (to be performed by the Kronos Quartet at the festival “Lincoln Center Out of Doors 2010”).

Music © 2010 Wlad Marhulets

Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of No Extra Notes

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Podcast © 2010 No Extra Notes

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: