No Extra Notes

Andreia Pinto-Correia
November 28, 2011, 11:22 am
Filed under: Composers



Andreia Pinto-Correia

Born: 1971

Current Location: Boston, MA



Andreia Pinto-Correia’s music is distinguished by influences of Iberian folk traditions, particularly Arab-Andalusian poetic forms. The NY Times described her music as an “aural fabric of (…) crucial, dark, and intense melody” and the prestigious literary journal Jornal de Letras proclaimed “the music of Andreia Pinto-Correia has been a major contribution to the dissemination of Portugal’s culture and language, perhaps a contribution larger than could ever be imagined”.

Highlights of this season include the Carnegie Hall premiere of a work commissioned by the American Composers Orchestra, a world premiere by the Minnesota Symphony Orchestra (2012 Composer Institute), a residency with Portuguese chamber orchestra OrchestrUtópica, and a European premiere by the Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa. She is now working on a Companhia Ópera do Castelo/Drumming GP co-commission with libretto by acclaimed West African writer Ondjaki, to be premiered by a consortium of theaters in the Iberian Peninsula during the 2013/14 season.

Pinto-Correia has received commissions from numerous ensembles and institutions including two European Union Presidency Commissions, Tanglewood Music Center, Drumming GP, Dinosaur Annex, Teatro S. Luiz, Machina Mundi, and Antena 2/Portuguese National Public Broadcast. She was a fellow at the Tanglewood Music Center, Aspen Music Festival, European Network of Opera Academies/ENOA as a Gulbenkian Foundation fellow, and the Composers Conference at Wellesley. She has received the Toru Takemitsu Award from the Japan Society, as well as awards from New England Conservatory and ASCAP.

She is currently a teaching fellow at the New England Conservatory of Music where she leads one of the Composition Seminars. She also collaborates with her father at the Research Center for Folk Studies at the University of Lisbon.

Music © 2011 Andreia Pint0-Correia

Photograph © 2011 Daniel Blaufuks

Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of No Extra Notes

Theme Music composed by Sarah Horick

Podcast © 2011 No Extra Notes

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: